Editorial Group - ROAPE
page-template-default,page,page-id-13396,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-10.1.1,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-,vc_responsive

Editorial Group

Editors of the Journal

The Review has a largely UK-based editorial working group supported by an international advisory group and by contributing editors from Africa, Europe and the Americas. ROAPE Online is based in South Africa and run with the support of the Society, Work and Development Institute (SWOP) at the University of the Witwatersrand.

The International Advisory Board consists of Björn Beckman, Fantu Cheru, Jean Copans, Shubi Ishemo, Peter Lawrence, John Loxley, Colin Murray, Mahmood Mamdani, John Markakis, Adebayo Olukoshi, John Saul, Issa Shivji, Morris Szeftel, and Gavin Williams.

We remember the following comrades who were closely involved with the journal: Chris Allen, A M Babu, Carolyn Baylies, Lionel Cliffe, Basil Davidson, Ruth First, Jitendra Mohan, Sam Moyo and Stephen Riley.

Editorial Working Group
Hakim Ad – University of Chichester
Alex Beresford Editor – University of Leeds
Janet Bujra – University of Bradford
Ray Bush – University of Leeds
Reginald Cline-Cole  Editor – University of Birmingham
Hannah Cross  Editor – University of Westminster
Peter Dwyer Book Reviews Editor – Ruskin College, Oxford University
Alastair Fraser – School of Oriental and African Studies
Elisa Greco – University of Manchester
Branwen Gruffydd Jones – Goldsmiths College, London
Graham Harrison  Deputy Chair of EWG – University of Sheffield
Gabrielle Lynch  Chair of EWG – University of Warwick
Laura Mann – London School of Economics and Political Science
Claire Mercer – London School of Economics
Sara Pantuliano – Overseas Development Institute
Matteo Rizzo – School of Oriental and African Studies
Clare Smedley  Production Editor
Colin Stoneman  Hon. Treasurer – Journal of Southern African Studies
Jörg Wiegratz – University of Leeds
Tunde Zack-Williams  Editor – University of Central Lancashire
Leo Zeilig  Briefings and Debates Editor – SWOP, University of the Witwatersrand and the Institute of Commonwealth Studies, University of London
Contributing Editors
Femi Aborisade – Center for Labour Studies, Nigeria
Rita Abrahamsen – University of Ottawa, Canada
Jimi Adesina – University of South Africa
B. Adebola Aiyelabola Jr. – University of Kassel and University of Jos
Sylvester Akhaine – Centre for Constitutionalism and Demilitarisation, Nigeria
Peter Alexander – University of Johannesburg, South Africa
Alison Ayers – Simon Fraser University, Canada
Patrick Bond – Centre for Civil Society, South Africa
Chambi Chachage – Independent Researcher/Analyst, Tanzania
Martin Doornbos – Institute of Social Studies, The Hague, Netherlands
Bill Freund – University of KwaZulu Natal, South Africa
Yao Graham – Third World Network, Accra, Ghana / Africa Editor
Miles Larmer – University of Oxford, UK
Peter Limb – Michigan State University, USA
Giuliano Martiniello – Makerere University, Uganda
Marjorie Mbilinyi – Tanzania Gender Networking Programme, Tanzania
Philani Moyo – University of Fort Hare, South Africa
Sam Moyo – African Institute for Agrarian Studies, Zimbabwe
Raufu Mustapha – University of Oxford, UK
Lusile Ntsebeza – University of Cape Town, South Africa
Ebenezer Obadare – Univerity of Kansas, USA
Cyril Obi – Nordic Africa Institute, Sweden
Jesse Salah Ovadia – University of Windsor, Canada
Trevor Parfitt – University of East London, UK
Stefano Ponte – Danish Institute for International Studies, Denmark
Mike Powell – Director, IKM Emergent programme, Germany
Reem Saad – American University in Cairo, Egypt
Lloyd Sachikonye – University of Zimbabwe, Harare
David Simon – Department of Geography, Royal Holloway
Usman Tar – University of Kurdistan-Hawler, Iraq
Theodore Trefon – Royal Museum of Central Africa, Belgium