Editorial Group - ROAPE
page-template-default,page,page-id-13396,page-child,parent-pageid-15784,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-16.8,qode-theme-bridge,qode_header_in_grid,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.5.2,vc_responsive

Editorial Group

Editors of the Journal

The Review has a largely UK-based editorial working group supported by an international advisory group and by contributing editors from Africa, Europe and the Americas.

The International Advisory Board consists of Björn Beckman, Fantu Cheru, Jean Copans, Shubi Ishemo, John Loxley, Colin Murray, Mahmood Mamdani, John Markakis, Adebayo Olukoshi, John Saul, Issa Shivji, Morris Szeftel, and Gavin Williams.

We remember the following comrades who were closely involved with the journal: Chris Allen, A M Babu, Carolyn Baylies, Lionel Cliffe, Basil Davidson, Ruth First, Jitendra Mohan, Sam Moyo and Stephen Riley.

Editorial Working Group
  • Remi Adekoya – Affiliate
  • Hakim Adi – University of Chichester
  • Alex Beresford – University of Leeds
  • Janet Bujra – University of Bradford
  • Ray Bush – University of Leeds
  • Reginald Cline-Cole, Editor – University of Birmingham
  • Hannah Cross, Chair of EWG – University of Westminster
  • Peter Dwyer, Book Reviews Editor – Ruskin College, Oxford University
  • Diane Frost – University of Liverpool
  • Elisa Greco, Editor – University of Leeds
  • Graham Harrison – University of Sheffield
  • Akin Iwilade – Affiliate
  • Peter Lawrence, Editor – Independent researcher
  • Gabrielle Lynch, Deputy-chair of EWG – University of Warwick
  • Laura Mann – London School of Economics and Political Science
  • Claire Mercer – London School of Economics
  • Nungari Mwangi – Affiliate
  • Nelson Oppong – University of Bath
  • Sara Pantuliano – Overseas Development Institute
  • Matteo Rizzo – School of Oriental and African Studies
  • Clare Smedley, Production Editor
  • Colin Stoneman Hon. Treasurer
  • Jörg Wiegratz, Debates and Briefings Editor – University of Leeds
  • Tunde Zack-Williams, Editor – University of Central Lancashire
  • Leo Zeilig, Website Editor – Institute of Commonwealth Studies, University of London
Contributing Editors
  • Femi Aborisade – Center for Labour Studies, Nigeria
  • Rita Abrahamsen – University of Ottawa, Canada
  • Jimi Adesina – University of South Africa
  • B. Adebola Aiyelabola Jr. – Public Services International, France
  • Sylvester Akhaine – Centre for Constitutionalism and Demilitarisation, Nigeria
  • Peter Alexander – University of Johannesburg, South Africa
  • Patrick Bond – University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa
  • Gavin Capps – University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa
  • Chambi Chachage – Independent Researcher/Analyst, Tanzania
  • Martin Doornbos – Institute of Social Studies, The Hague, Netherlands
  • Alastair Fraser – School of Oriental and African Studies, UK
  • Bill Freund – University of KwaZulu Natal, South Africa
  • Branwen Gruffydd Jones – University of Cardiff, UK
  • Yao Graham – Third World Network, Accra, Ghana / Africa Editor
  • Philippa Hall – Independent researcher, UK
  • Miles Larmer – University of Oxford, UK
  • Peter Limb – Michigan State University, USA
  • Giuliano Martiniello – American University of Beirut, Lebanon
  • Marjorie Mbilinyi – Independent researcher, Tanzania
  • Philani Moyo – University of Fort Hare, South Africa
  • Lungisile Ntsebeza – University of Cape Town, South Africa
  • Ebenezer Obadare – Univerity of Kansas, USA
  • Cyril Obi – Social Science Research Council, USA
  • Jesse Salah Ovadia – University of Windsor, Canada
  • Trevor Parfitt – University of Nottingham, Malaysia
  • Stefano Ponte – Copenhagen Business School, Denmark
  • Mike Powell – UKME programme, UK
  • Reem Saad – American University in Cairo, Egypt
  • Lloyd Sachikonye – University of Zimbabwe, Zimbabwe
  • David Simon – Mistra Urban Futures, Sweden; Department of Geography, Royal Holloway
  • Usman Tar – Nigerian Defence Academy, Nigeria
  • Theodore Trefon – Royal Museum of Central Africa, Belgium